Tag it:
Delicious
Furl it!
Spurl
NewsVine
Reddit
Digg

New titles by faculty and alums.

Thurm_book.jpg
Today Is Not Your Day by Marian Thurm ’75 AM (SixOneSeven Books)
With her generous new story collection, Thurm, the author of three previous collections and six novels, charts the lives of her characters with both humor and threads of hope. You’ll meet a woman who feels compelled to help nurse her ex-husband’s new young wife back from cancer, and a social worker who shatters her kneecap and loses her fiancé all in the same hour. Fans of Laurie Colwin and Lorrie Moore will find much to savor here.

 

Harding_book.jpg
Remnants: A Memoir of Spirit, Activism, and Mothering by Rosemarie Freeney Harding with Rachel Elizabeth Harding ’86, ’90 MFA (Duke).
Rosemarie Freeney Harding, who died in 2004, was an influential civil rights activist as well as a teacher, social worker, organizer, and—with her husband, Vincent—the cofounder of Mennonite House, a community center in Atlanta. In a book that’s part memoir and part compilation, Rachel Harding has sifted through her mother’s essays, notebooks, fiction, and interviews and combined them with her own memories to create a wise and affecting portrait of Rosemarie’s life.  

 

CharlesNeu_book.jpg
Colonel House: A Biography of Woodrow Wilson's Silent Partner by Professor of History Emeritus Charles E. Neu (Oxford). In this engaging biography, Neu, a professor emeritus of history at Brown, explores the life of Texan Edward “Colonel” House, a wealthy political power broker who first met Wilson in 1911, when the future president was governor of New Jersey. Though he never held an official title, House became Wilson’s prime confidant and, as the U.S. was drawn into World War I, his closest foreign policy adviser. Neu, the author of America’s Lost War: Vietnam, 1945–1975, once taught a popular course at Brown on that subject.

   

ALUMNI NONFICTION

Spellbinding Sentences: A Writer’s Guide to Achieving Excellence and Captivating Readers by Barbara Baig ’71 (Writer’s Digest)

Denmark: A Photographer’s Odyssey by Marshall Cohen ’54 (Big Marsh News)

Microgroove: Forays into Other Music by John Corbett ’86 (Duke)

Clem Labine: Always a Dodger by Richard Elliott ’68 (Page Publishing).

The Little Review Ulysses edited by Mark Gaipa ’88 AM ’93 PhD, Sean Latham ’96 AM ’00 PhD, Robert Scholes (Yale)

America’s Future: Requiem or Renaissance? An Agenda for the Transformation of Our Nation and Ourselves by Bernard Gluckstern ’91 AM (RoseDog Books)

A Patient Guide to Unnecessary Knee Surgery by Ronald Grelsamer ’75 (Hey Bulldog Press)

Kitchen Creamery by Louella Hill ’03 (Chronicle Books)

Bargaining for Women’s Rights: Activism in an Aspiring Muslim Documentary by Alice J. Kang ’00 (Minnesota)

Lifeline for the End Times: Creating a New Humanity for the Apocalypse and Beyond by Peter Lawson ’50 (West County Press)

Dirty Blvd.: The Life and Music of Lou Reed by Aidan Levy ’08 (Chicago Review Press)

Hidden Inheritance: Family Secrets, Memoir, and Faith by Heidi Neumark ’76 (Abingdon Press)

Brethren by Nature: New England Indians, Colonists, and the Origin of American Slavery by Margaret Ellen Newell ’84 (Cornell)

Workplace Wellness That Works: 10 Steps to Infuse Well-Being and Vitality Into Any Organization by Laura Hallowell Putnam ’94 MAT (Wiley)

Emperor Wu Zhao and Her Pantheon of Devis, Divinities, and Dynastic Mothers by N. Harry Rothschild ’03 PhD (Columbia)

In the Mind Fields: Exploring the New Science of Neuropsychoanalysis by Casey Schwartz ’04 (Pantheon)

 

ALUMNI POETRY

This Amazing Cage of Light: New and Selected Poems by Martine Bellen ’88 AM (Spuyten Duyvil Publishing)

Sand Stone by Tonia Teresa Healey ’80 (Llumina Press)

 

ALUMNI TRANSLATION

Across Borders by Xue Di translated by Alison Friedman ’02 (Green Integer Press)

 

ALUMNI CHILDRENS BOOKS

Kiki and Jacques by Susan Ross ’81 (Holiday House)

 





Be the first to comment on this article

Name and Class Year:
Email:
Comment:

Code:* Code