mjsp3.jpg Dennis Coleman í75 (center) introduced University of Washington basketball coach Lorenzo Romar (second from left) and Georgia Techís Paul Hewitt (second from right) as the first recipients of the Fritz Pollard Coach of the Year Award on April 6 at Sayles Hall. The Providence Journalís Kevin McNamara (left) and athletic director Michael Goldberger (right) also spoke. The award is presented by the Black Coaches Association.

mjsp2.jpg The menís varsity eight earned headlines on the Seekonk River April 7, when the crew, stroked by Joe Donahue í07, edged out Harvard, the three-time defending national champion, in 5:35.7. It was the Crimsonís first varsity-eight loss in three years.