Reunion Report: Class of 1995

By Sharmila S. Rao, Anne Carney, and Stephen Gilheeney / July / August 2000
May 3rd, 2007

The class of ’95 returned to campus in grand style and excitement. The weekend opened on the Pembroke campus, where we picked up our neat favors –Brown recyclable mugs, which were reminiscent of the "Brown Is Green" mugs we had as undergrads. Next on the agenda were a reception at Alumnae Hall and lots of reuniting handshakes and hugs under our tent.

It was a beautiful night for Campus Dance and spirits were high among us all. Music greeted us at every turn, and sidewalks were illuminated with smiles and laughter.

On Saturday morning about seventy of us attended a class panel discussion titled "Where Are We Now?" Nine classmates from diverse fields (theater, film, the Internet, non-profits, and health care) discussed their work and dispensed advice. We thank panelists Michelle R. Adler, Ed Bielawa, Deepa Donde, Khary Lazarre-White, Scott Paley, Jillian Rosenbach, Michelle Sy, Marc Vogl, and Jason Warwin. During this session the reunion gift committee presented a check totaling about $925,000. The panel was followed by a tree-planting ceremony in memory of Karina Lago.

After that it was off to play in the sun at Field Day. Circles of us sat in the grass, where we spent time reminiscing, describing our years after college, and envisioning our futures. We rounded up about half the group for a huge class photo, which you should soon be able to see online. To order a copy, call alumni relations at (401) 863-3307.

A reception in Petteruti Lounge on Saturday night and a party at Dave & Buster’s entertainment center on Sunday night gave classmates the chance to reconnect over food, drinks, and games.

The exhausting but exhilarating weekend came to a memorable close with the Commencement march. Walking through the Van Wickle Gates with alumni of generations past and future brought feelings of happiness and comfort for times shared, joy and anticipation for times yet to be experienced, and a sweet sadness for times past.

We give heartfelt thanks to members of the reunion-activities and reunion-gift committees: Michelle R. Adler, Deepa Donde, Karen Anderson, Jane Wang Bielawa, Eric Boyriven, Susan Chew, Amity Gaige, Lorraine Gardinier, Tushna Kandawalla, Anne Kasmar, Alison Lee, Lisa Lepson, Jed Lippard, Charles Magee, Fausto Monacelli, Joelle Murchison,Tamara Pizer, Leah Rotenberg, Raissa Villanueva, and Lenore Zeuthen, as well as the many others who offered support over the past year. We also thank Amy Haughey and Dorene Perreira of alumni relations and Michelle Lough of the Brown Annual Fund.

We are still collecting nominations for class officers and will hold the elections soon via e-mail and the Web. If you would like to nominate someone or if you would like to be a class officer, e-mail

We’ll need more ideas and energy as we plan our 10th reunion! In the meantime, keep in touch with classmates at – Sharmila S. Rao, Anne Carney, and Stephen Gilheeney

What do you think?
See what other readers are saying about this article and add your voice. 
Related Issue
July / August 2000