Top Bears

By The Editors / November / December 2004
June 14th, 2007

The Brown Alumni Association held its annual alumni-recognition ceremony in early October for the twentieth time, acknowledging the work of graduates and parents whose volunteer or professional work have made a difference either at Brown or in the world at large. Below is a partial list of award winners.

William Rogers Award

Established by the BAA in 1984, the William Rogers Award recognizes an outstanding alumna or alumnus whose contribution and service to society is representative of the words of the Brown Charter: living a life “of usefulness and reputation.”

James B. Garvin ’78, ’84 PhD
Chief Scientist for NASA’s Mars and Lunar Exploration Programs

Horace Mann Medal

The Horace Mann Medal for Distinguished Graduate School Alumni was established in 2003, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Graduate School. The award is named in honor of Horace Mann, class of 1819, who created the nation’s first state board of education and is widely regarded as the father of American public school education. Formerly called the Distinguished Graduate School Alumni Award, the Horace Mann Medal is given annually to an alumnus or alumna of the Brown Graduate School who has made significant contributions to his or her field of study.

Wen-Hsiung Li, ’72 PhD
Leader in evolution of DNA sequences and comparative genomics

Young Alumni Public Service Award

Adriana V. Young ’01
Cofounder and Executive Director of English for Action
A holistic, participatory ESOL program, integrating language learning with important community themes. Now serving more than 150 immigrant families in Providence’s Olneyville neighborhood.

H. Anthony Ittleson ’60 Award

This award is given by the Brown Annual Fund to a volunteer or group of volunteers who best exemplify the extraordinary leadership of H. Anthony Ittleson ’60, national chair of the Brown Annual Fund from 1986 to 1990.

Wendy E. Dietze ’79

Richard A. Friedman ’79

Ruthanne Schwartz Fuller ’79

John Hope Award

The BAA created the John Hope Award in 1994 in an effort to encourage alumni public service. The award is named for the 1894 African American graduate of Brown who dedicated his life to education and public service. The BAA seeks an alumna or alumnus whose commitment to public service demonstrates leadership, innovation and a direct impact on the community. This individual may be a professional whose career is dedicated to public service or a volunteer devoted to public or social action.

Paul G. Heck ’89
Founder and Director of the Red Hot Organization
Red Hot Organization is the leading international organization dedicated to fighting AIDS through pop culture.

Brown Bear Award

In 1946 the Brown Alumni Association adopted a recommendation from the Brown Club of New York that a Brown Bear Award be given by the association to recognize “outstanding and wide-ranging personal service rendered the University over a period of years “Each year an anonymous committee reviews nominations from alumni and staff and selects one to three recipients, following the original recommendation that “neither financial aid given the University nor achievement in the fields of business or profession” be considered. Winners of the Brown Bear Award have usually distinguished themselves as volunteers for Brown in more than one area.

Carolyn Cardall Newsom ’62

Anita V. Spivey ’74

David G. Lubrano ’52

Alumni Service Awards

The Alumni Service Awards are given annually for distinguished, continuing volunteer service to Brown in any field of alumni activity “to recognize those very special people whose work, love of Brown, spirit of cooperation and selflessness stand out and who will continue to provide these invaluable services.” Six to eight award recipients are chosen each year by an anonymous committee consisting of alumni leaders and staff.

Michael L. Baumstein ’76

Daniel M. Cain ’68

Jose J. Estabil ’84, ’88 ScM

Ann M. Galligan ’77

James D. Kallman ’84

Robert F. Lowe Jr. ’61

Young Alumni Service Award

The Young Alumni Service Award recognizes those alumni graduating in the past ten years whose early volunteer service for Brown sets an example for their peers, helps to keep other young alumni involved with Brown, and shows promise for continued service and leadership in the future.

Alexander L. Cavallo ’94

Giovanna E. Cavallo ’94

Spotlight Award

The spotlight awards highlight exemplary accomplishments for Brown in any volunteer capacity. Individual alumni, parents, or organizations may be nominated.

Benjamin C. Bowler ’95

Susan W. Buchanan ’82

Kwame K. Campbell ’92

William J. H. Chapman ’80

Michael A. Dempsey, MD ’79

Jessica L. Radow ’03

Alexander D. Slawsby ’00

Charles K. Stephenson ’72

Dale L. Truman ’68 and Joy Sutro Truman ’70

Sridhar Venkatapuram ’93

BASC Executive Committee 2003-2004

Class of 1974

Entrepreneurship Program Advisory Board

IPC-New York City Planning Committee

Nan Tracy ’46 Award

The Nan Tracy Award is given annually to a class leader who has given distinguished service to his or her class, the Association of Class Leaders, and/or the University.

Pamela Boylan Ong ’84

Class of the Year

The Association of Class Leaders Awards program has recognized those classes with exceptional programs that facilitate
engagement among classmates. The criteria are quality, variety, and creativity in communications, class activities, and class leadership.

Class of 1969

What do you think?
See what other readers are saying about this article and add your voice. 
Related Issue
November / December 2004