Game Day

July 2nd, 2013
Water polo’s James McNamara ’14, William Klein ’16, and Hannah Koper ’17 will represent the United States in the 19th World Maccabiah Games in July; Yahel Murvitz Lahav ’17 will represent Israel.… Clay Del Prince ’13 and Roger Ferguson ’13 were selected to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Scholar All-America Team.… After thirty years, head wrestling coach Dave Amato will retire with a career record of 379–298–7.… Replacing Amato is former Nebraska All-American Todd Beckerman, who arrives at Brown after eight seasons as Maryland’s head assistant coach, where he helped the Terrapins earn four ACC championships in the last eight years.… Associate men’s head basketball coach T.J. Sorrentine will be inducted into the New England Basketball Hall of Fame.… Caroline King ’13 is one of five Division I women’s basketball players selected to the inaugural Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Good Works Team, which recognizes basketball student-athletes who have demonstrated outstanding volunteerism and civic involvement.… Men’s rowing finished second in team points at the IRA National Championship, helped by a third-place finish in the varsity eight and second-place finishes in the second varsity eight and freshman eight.… Women’s rowing finished seventh overall at the NCAA Rowing Championships, while the second varsity eight earned a third-place finish.… Tim Springfield, the interim director of track & field and cross-country last season, is now its permanent director.… As starters or key reserves with a GPA of 3.0 or better, ten Brown athletes were named Academic All-Ivy: Anthony Borelli ’13 (ice hockey; economics concentrator), Lauren Clarke ’14 (basketball; business entrepreneurship & organizations concentrator), Kathryn Hawrot ’14 (fencing; health & human biology concentrator), Kristin Jackson ’13 (swimming; environmental studies concentrator), Emma Leblanc ’14 (skiing; biology concentrator), Kelly McGuire ’13 (fencing; neuroscience and visual arts concentrator), Dennis Robertson ’14 (ice hockey; business entrepreneurship and organizations concentrator), Michalle Shnayder ’14 (gymnastics; neuroscience and science & society concentrator), Matthew Sullivan ’13 (basketball; economics concentrator), and William Watterson ’14 (wrestling; history concentrator).
What do you think?
See what other readers are saying about this article and add your voice. 
Related Issue
July/August 2013