Game Day

January 4th, 2012
Defensive tackle Kyle Rettig '12, linebacker Brett Wyman '12, safety Stephen Peyton '12, offensive tackle Jack Templeton '13, defensive back AJ Cruz '13, and punter Nate Lovett '12 were named first-team All-Ivy in football.... The College Sports Information Directors of America picked Lovett and offensive guard Luke Landers '12 for the Capital One Academic All-District football first team.... Men's soccer forward TJ Popolizio '12 and goalkeeper Sam Kernan-Schloss '13 made the Capital One Academic All-District I men's soccer first team, and Sarah Hebert-Seropian '12, Marybeth Lesbirel '12, Eliza Marshall '13, Diana Ohrt '13 and MC Barrett '14 were picked for the Capital One Academic All-District I women's soccer second team.... Women's soccer defender Allison Kagawa '12 was named to the NSCAA Division I All-Region Team; and goalkeeper Barrett was named to the All-Ivy first team. Forward Marybeth Lesbirel '12 was selected to participate in the 2011 New England Women's Intercollegiate Soccer Association annual Senior Bowl.... Defender Dylan Remick '13 and midfielder Rob Medairos '12 earned first-team All-Ivy honors in men's soccer.... Svetozar Stefanovic '13 became the first man in history to win three consecutive Collegiate Water Polo Association Northern Division Most Valuable Player of the Year awards.... Women's basketball defeated the universities of Evansville and Maine to win the Dead River Company Classic, and overtook Providence College and URI to capture the Brown BEAR Classic.... Men's basketball also upset URI, 65–56, outscoring the Rams for the first time since 2001.... Women's golf won the Lehigh Invitational, where Stephanie Hsieh '15 tied for the individual championship but lost medalist honors in a one-hole playoff. At the Spider Invitational at the University of Richmond, Hsieh also tied for the top individual spot and birdied the first playoff hole to earn medalist honors. The team finished second.... All-American runner Dan Lowry '12 finished 28th out of 252 at the 2011 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships... USRowing named women's crew head coach John Murphy collegiate coach of the year at the inaugural Golden Oars Awards Dinner at the New York Athletic Club. Last spring Murphy guided Brown to its seventh national championship in fifteen years.... Associate athletic director and former field hockey and women's lacrosse coach Carolan Norris was inducted into the New Agenda: Northeast Women's Hall of Fame.


What do you think?
See what other readers are saying about this article and add your voice. 
Related Issue
January/February 2012