Recognition Awards

November 8th, 2016

During alumni fall weekend, the Brown Alumni Association handed out awards at the Alumni Recognition Ceremony on September 24. Jaykumar A. Menon ’90, who received the William Rogers Award, spoke for many  when he said he'd acquired at Brown a willingness to ask: “Why don’t we do this another way?”

Photograph of Jaykumar A. Menon, class of '90, standing at a podium.
Jaykumar A. Menon ’90.Photo: John Maciel

William Rogers Award

Considered the BAA’s highest honor, this award goes to an alum whose service to society embodies the life “of usefulness and reputation” called for in the Brown Charter. This year’s recipient, Jaykumar A. Menon ’90, is an award-winning international human rights lawyer, social entrepreneur, and teacher whose latest initiative, the Open Source Pharma project, aims to provide affordable medicine throughout the world by establishing a global open-source pharmaceutical ecosystem. As an attorney, he won a $4 billion judgment on behalf of victims of the Bosnian genocide. 

Joseph M. Fernandez ’85 Award

Given in memory of the late BAA president, this award recognizes a commitment to diversity and collaboration with the University community. 

Javette Pinkney Laremont ’80

H. Anthony Ittleson ’60 Award

For extraordinary volunteer leadership in raising money for the Brown Annual Fund

Todd A. Fisher ’87

Nancy Fuld Neff ’76

Brown Bear Award

For a lifetime of outstanding volunteer service to Brown

Andrea Terzi Baum ’83

James J. Burke ’73 

Sheryl D. Brissett-Chapman ’71

Peige Katz ’91

Brown Annual Fund Gold Award

For fundraising success by graduates of the last decade

Daniel J. Pipkin ’14 

Young Alumni Service Award

For distinguished alumni service to Brown by young alumni

Robert J. Klaber ’07

Erik A. Peterson ’07

Alumni Service Award

For continuing volunteer service to Brown

Phoebe D. Knowles ’96 

James R. Moody ’58

Carrie A. Savage ’98

Naeem Zafar ’81

Brown Annual Fund Class Participation Award

For the class with the highest participation in giving to the Brown Annual Fund

Class of 1956

Brown Annual Fund Cochairs’ Award

For a volunteer who played a critical role in the Brown Annual Fund’s achievement of its goal in the previous fiscal year

Brennan Gilbane Koch ’01

2016 Class of the Year Award

For the Brown class that most effectively engages its members

Class of 2011

Class of 1951

What do you think?
See what other readers are saying about this article and add your voice. 
Related Issue
November/December 2016